15 HBCUs to Head National Entrepreneurship Initiative

15 historically Black colleges and universities have been named to a national consortium to create innovation and market-ready research in HBCU communities.

The HBCU Innovation and Entrepreneurship Collaborative, announced today by the Association of Public and Land Grant Universities, will pair administrators, faculty and students from the selected HBCUs with federal government and industry resources to spur economic development in agriculture, business, technology and engineering.

The institutions are:

  • Clark Atlanta University
  • Fayetteville State University
  • Florida A&M University
  • Hampton University
  • Howard University
  • Jackson State University
  • Morehouse College
  • Morgan State University
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Tuskegee University
  • University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  • University of the Virgin Islands
  • Virginia State University
  • Xavier University of Louisiana

The participating schools were selected from 44 applying institutions, and chosen based upon their existing capacity in technology transfer, federally funded research, intellectual property profile, and collaboration between academic disciplines.

The HBCUs will convene in March at the Innovation and Entrepreneurship Collaborative symposium in San Jose, CA.

  • Randy Nichols

    I’d be happy to lend whatever assistance I ould as my doctoral concentration is in entrepreneurship. I’ve written on the subject and presented research at national conferences.

    ~Dr/ Charles “Randy” Nichols/randynic@gmail.com