Spelman Crowned HBCU of the Year at Third Annual HBCU Awards


Spelman College President Beverly Daniel Tatum accepted the HBCU of the Year award at the Third Annual HBCU Awards ceremony on Friday night. Citing media coverage of the college’s discontinuation of intercollegiate athletics as an element for receiving the night’s highest honor, Dr. Tatum accepted the award on behalf of the Spelman students, faculty and staff who worked to place Spelman at the center of international media attention.

“We know that obesity and health disparities affect black women at alarming rates,” Dr. Tatum told the crowd of more than 175 HBCU presidents, alumni, students and supporters at the Jackson State University Student Center Ballroom in Jackson, MS. “We were able to do something that makes a difference for our entire student body, within an issue that ultimately affects all of our families and communities.”

The HBCU Awards ceremony presented awards for excellence in student life, journalism, academics, research, athletics, alumni support and leadership. Among the notable winners for the evening was iconic civil rights activist and Alcorn State University Scholar-in-Residence Myrlie Evers-Williams, who earned the evening’s Female Faculty Member of the Year and Lifetime Achievement awards.

“I thank my Alcorn family and President Brown for bringing me home,” said Evers as she discussed the recently dedicated statue of Medgar Evers on the campus of Alcorn State. “It’s great to inspire young minds and do it on the campus where my life’s work began.”

The HBCU Awards and its accompanying training seminar, the National HBCU Media Summit, were the culminating events of HBCU Media Week, presented by Jackson State University and the HBCU Digest, a daily online publication covering America’s historically black colleges. Organizers call the Week an “annual period of training, celebration and media outreach among America’s 105 historically black colleges and universities.”

“It is exciting to complete such a historic and ambitious slate of events in the name of black college advancement and awareness,” said Jarrett Carter Sr., Founder and Executive Director of the Center for HBCU Media Advocacy and Founding Editor of the HBCU Digest. “We are honored that Jackson State University, one of the nation’s premier centers of education, research and service, opened its doors and community to help us pioneer a new cultural staple in support of HBCUs.”

Designed to engage the national HBCU community in media literacy and development, the National HBCU Media Summit will provide best practices in media culture building from HBCU communities from around the nation. Through dialog with practicing journalists, administrators, PR professionals, faculty and students, the Summit assists in building a focused, national media strategy for HBCUs.

The winners of the 2013 HBCU Awards are:

Best Marching Band
Sonic Boom of the South, Jackson State University

Best Choir
Aeolian Choir, Oakwood University

Best Student Government Association
Albany State University

Best Student Newspaper
North Carolina Central University Campus Echo

Best Student Organization
Spelman College SpelBots

Best Alumni Magazine
Morgan Magazine, Morgan State University

Best Research Center
NOAA-CAS at Howard University

Best Fine Arts Program
Alabama State University Dept. of Theater Arts

Best Business Program
Paul Quinn College Business Administration Program

Best S.T.E.M. Program
Hampton University School of Science

Best Nursing Program
Dillard University School of Nursing

Best Social Work Program
Fayetteville State University Dept. of Social Work

Best Male Faculty Member
Dr. Kinfe Ken Redda, Florida A&M University

Best Female Faculty Member
Myrlie Evers-Williams, Alcorn State University

Best Male Coach
Connell Maynor, Winston-Salem State University

Best Female Coach
Toyelle Wilson, Prairie View A&M University

Best Male Athlete
Anaso Jobodwana, Jackson State University

Best Female Athlete
SiMon Franklin, Xavier University of Louisiana

Best Men’s Team
Southern University Men’s Basketball

Best Women’s Team
Hampton University Women’s Basketball

Male Alumnus of the Year
Chief Justice Tom Colbert, Kentucky State University

Female Alumnus of the Year
Nicole Bernard, Howard University

National Alumni Association of the Year
University of the Virgin Islands

Male Student of the Year
Polite Stewart, Southern University

Female Student of the Year
Olivia Stinson

Male President of the Year
Dr. M. Christopher Brown II, Alcorn State University

Female President of the Year
Dr. Dianne B. Suber, Saint Augustine’s University

Lifetime Achievement
Myrlie Evers-Williams

HBCU of the Year
Spelman College




  • http://hbcunews.net/ HBCU News

    Congratulations to Spelman

  • Pingback: 2013 HBCU Award Winners: The Sonic Boom of the South | The Marching Blogcast()

  • DCarter

    Congrats to everyone! Special congrats to my HBCU: Spelman!

  • Irma Griffin

    How were some of these awards selected? Jackson State-the best band-that’s a joke, they copy everything.

    • http://twitter.com/LegacyDynasty Raheem Legacy (@LegacyDynasty)

      maybe they wanted a band who was progressing steadily throughout the year and no JSU doesn’t copy anything from Anyone. you “New” folks have things all wrong. you see one band do something and you assume the next band is copying. Wrong.

      Please note, they have the award to FAMU and SU already.

  • http://www.JimmyHernandez.com Jimmy A. Hernández

    Great things happening here and huge congrats to Spellman. I remember reading about the decision the college’s president made to leave the NCAA citing costs in an age when federal funds are being cut both to schools and students.

    But question: How are the award recipients selected?

  • Dr. Evelyn Carter

    Magnificent Job! Bravo! HBCUs need to be showcased, so that the importance, relevance and impact can be realized globally!